Salesperson License Requirements

Real Estate Salespersons (aka real estate agents) are licensed by the California Bureau of Real Estate (CalBRE) to, while working under a broker, represent the public in the purchase, sale, or lease of real property for compensation.


Salesperson License Requirements

In order to get a Salesperson license, you must be 18 years or older, and pass the CalBRE-administered Salesperson State Exam. In order to qualify for this exam, you must complete three courses: Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice, and one elective course of your choice (we recommend California Real Estate Law due to the high percentage of questions on the Salesperson State Exam).



  1. If you completed Business Law, Economics, or Accounting at an approved 2 or 4-year college, then you have already completed the elective requirement.
  2. If you are a member of the California State Bar, or are a graduate of a law school recognized by the California State bar, then you are not required to meet the course requirements. However, you will need approval from the CalBRE.


Once you complete the three required pre-license courses, apply for the Salesperson State Exam by following these instructions (we recommend the Combined Salesperson Examination and License Application). It can take up to six weeks for the CalBRE to process your application.


Salesperson Renewal Requirements

In order to maintain your Salesperson license, you must complete 45 hours of CalBRE-approved continuing education every 4 years. Renewal applications can be submitted up to 90 days prior to the expiration of your license. Once you complete the required continuing education, you can renew your license online via the CalBRE’s eLicensing online system, or by mailing the RE 209 form to the CalBRE.